Merry Christmas, From John Legend


Every year around this time, the thirstiest of musicians announce that they’re releasing holiday albums, and judging by just how disgustingly muggy it is outside, I don’t blame them. Screw Halloween—let’s get to the good stuff.

So with John Legend’s blessing, I’d like to wish you all a very Merry Christmas. On Monday, he announced that he’s dropping his first-ever Christmas album—the aptly titled A Legendary Christmas—on October 26. I think the real news story here is that he’s somehow made it this far into his career somehow with an EGOT but without producing a holiday album???

He’s not the first to demand we acknowledge a premature holiday season. Back in May, 98 Degrees announced that the boy band of now middle-aged dudes will embark on a holiday tour this winter. Depending on your feelings about “Because of You,” this could be considered an early Christmas gift. In September, Gwen Stefani likewise announced that she’s releasing a deluxe version of her 2017 Christmas album, You Make it Feel Like Christmas, with new tracks (due October 26).

Jessie J, not to be forgotten, will drop her own debut Christmas album, This Christmas Day, featuring Boyz II Men, Babyface, and some other people she was able to trick into recording Christmas music. Guess what? It’s also in stores October 26, just a few days before Halloween.

Happy holidays, you bastards.

Here’s the track list for A Legendary Christmas:

1) “What Christmas Means to Me” (feat. Stevie Wonder on harmonica)
2) “Silver Bells”
3) “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” (feat. Esperanza Spalding)
4) “No Place Like Home”
5) “Bring Me Love”
6) “Merry Christmas Baby / Give Love on Christmas Day”
7) “Christmas Time Is Here”
8) “Waiting for Christmas”
9) “Purple Snowflakes”
10) “The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)“
11) “Please Come Home for Christmas”
12) “Wrap Me Up in Your Love”
13) “By Christmas Eve”
14) “Merry Merry Christmas”

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin