Scarlett Johansson and Este Haim Join Forces on 'Super-Pop' Girl Group


Scarlett Johansson is back on the music scene, this time with a “super-pop” band called The Singles, which also features Holly Miranda, Kendra Morris, Julia Haltigan, and Este Haim on drums.

Johansson told Rolling Stone:

“The idea was to write super-pop dance music written and performed by girls. I wanted it to be like those bands: ultra-pop but also a little ironic, a little in on the joke.”

Their first single, “Candy,” was produced by TV On The Radio’s Dave Sitek; you can definitely feel the influence of artists like Robyn and Grimes, but it’s repetitive as hell and lacks a compelling hook. Check it out for yourself below:

Image via Getty

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin