The 2010 Oscar Invite, Plus Academy Newbies


Ever wondered what an invitation to the Oscars looks like? Well, here you go. (Black tie — thanks for clearing that up!) Speaking of, who’s actually in the Academy, anyhow?

Much like getting a good table at Madeo’s or decent seats at a Lakers game, getting a membership invite to the Academy — and thus being eligible to cast an Oscars vote — is game of notoriety and waiting. Spots become available every year, and the Academy often suggests to various departments that they invite more. Last year, the Academy made room for 166 new members; 134 of those members were categorized as artists and executives. So who were 2009’s chosen ones?

Actors: Casey Affleck, Emily Blunt, Michael Cera, Viola Davis, James Franco, Brendan Gleeson, Anne Hathaway, Taraji P. Henson, Emile Hirsch, Hugh Jackman, Melissa Leo, Jane Lynch, Eddie Marsan, James McAvoy, Seth Rogen, Paul Rudd, Amy Ryan, Michael Shannon, Michelle Williams, Jeffrey Wright

Animators: J.J. Blumenkranz, Konstantin Bronzit, Kendal Cronkhite, Rodolphe Guenoden, Byron Howard, Kunio Kato, Doug Sweetland, Chris Williams

Art Directors: Andrew Ackland-Snow

At-Large: Matthew D. Loeb, Redmond Morris

Casting Directors: John Papsidera, Bernie Telsey

Cinematographers: Russ T. Alsobrook, Anthony Dod Mantle, Henner Hofmann, Claudio Miranda, Rodney Taylor, Mandy Walker

Costume Designers: Deborah Hopper, Louise Mingenbach, Michael O’Connor, Michael Wilkinson

Directors: Rachid Bouchareb, Danny Boyle, David Frankel, Rod Lurie, Thomas McCarthy, Tyler Perry, Henry Selick

Documentary: William Gazecki, Rachel Grady, Rory Kennedy, Scott Hamilton Kennedy, James Marsh, Megan Mylan, Doug Pray

Executives: Daniel D.A. Battsek, Steve Beeks, Graham W. Burke, Joe Drake, Erik Feig, Paul Hanneman, Donald P. Harris, Claudia Lewis

Film Editors: Roger Barton, Hank Corwin, Chris Dickens, Elliot Graham, Kathryn Himoff, Leo Trombetta, Brent White, Pam Wise

Live Action Short Films: Reto Caffi – Jochen Alexander Freydank, F. Carter Pilcher

Makeup and Hairstylists: Howard Berger, Mike Elizalde, Louis Lazzara, Gerald Quist

Music: Jeff Danna, Andrew Dorfman, Peter Gabriel, Clint Mansell, A.R. Rahman

Producers: Mark Ciardi, Christian Colson, Gordon Gray, Broderick Johnson, Cathy Konrad, Andrew Kosove, James Lassiter, Russell Smith, Paula Wagner

Production Designers: Donald Graham Burt, Michael Carlin, Jane Ann Stewart, Kevin Thompson

Public Relations: Michael D. Camp, Marc Cohen, Megan Colligan, James C. Gallagher, David Kaminow, Sal Ladestro, Maria Pekurovskaya, Elizabeth Petit

Set Decorators: Rebecca Alleway, Peter Lando, Barbara Munch-Cameron

Scenic Artists: Robert Topol

Sound: Michael Barry, Derek Casari, Aaron Glascock, Ren Klyce, Peter F. Kurland, Karen Baker Landers, Hamilton Sterling, Deborah Wallach, Kim Waugh

Visual Effects: Christopher Bond, Matthew Butler, Chris Corbould

Rob Engle, Scott Gordon, Hal Hickel, Van Ling, Shane Mahan, Steve Preeg, Tim Webber, Edson Williams

Writers: John August, Dustin Lance Black, Courtney Hunt, Howard A. Rodman

This post is an excerpt from an item that originally appeared on The Daily Truffle, a Los Angeles social diary. Reprinted with permission.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Share Tweet Submit Pin